craftysuburbmomma

Charlotte’s Quiet Book First Attempt

In For a Kiddo, Sewing on April 4, 2012 at 7:27 pm

I’ve been seeing multiple post things about quiet books online and I thought they would be a lot of fun. Charlotte can be a handful at times and I thought a little activity book could be just what she needed!

There are ideas ALL over the internet. It was quite overwhelming to get started, in fact it’s STILL overwhelming because some of these books are incredibly detailed! I wanted something that was fun and colorful yet not so over-the-top that I would spend hours on each page. I’ve learned that it hurts a lot more when you slave over something for your kid and have them not like it than when it’s just an hour or two undertaking. (Case in point: Charlotte’s first birthday present) I also wanted to really create my own pages and not just use everything I’d seen online.

So here is the first page:

I’ve learned a few things with this page:

1. Snaps are very difficult for a 22 month-old to grasp. I should’ve done one large flower and used velcro instead. I will most likely redo this page reflecting said changes.

2. I like using fabric on hand with some felt instead of all felt. I have totes and totes and totes filled with fabric that my Mom had collected over the years and I have added to it as well. This is a great way for me to use the fabric pieces that are too small for a project on their own.

More pages to come!

Happy Crafting!

  1. […] quiet book page I did ended up being a flop when it came to Charlotte being able to play with it (See Here).  I didn’t want to completely abandon the flower page idea because I loved it so much! […]

  2. This brings back memories of making a quiet book for my boys when they were tiny! You’re off to a great start . . . good luck! 🙂

  3. […] Charlotte’s Quiet Book First Attempt (craftysuburbmomma.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

