craftysuburbmomma

Quiet Book Pg. 2

In For a Kiddo, Quiet Book, Sewing on April 4, 2012 at 7:46 pm

Unlike the first page this one only took about 45 minutes to whip up! It took me longer than it should’ve because I sewed over and over the yarn to make sure that a two-year-old’s tugging wouldn’t pull it out.

I have seen a few pages like this online and I thought it would be fun. Then I wore a shirt today that has beads on the front and Charlotte thought they were the coolest things ever! Channeling the anal side of me I lined up the colors in a nice rainbow effect. A traditional abacus is going to to have the same number of beads and generally the colors mean something based on how they are positioned. I broke with that because, well, I’m dealing with a 22-month-old and she’ll be happy with the fact that the beads are pretty. I am hoping we can continue working on her numbers and she’ll have fun counting each line!

Happy Crafting!

  1. […] seeing how much the girls loved the abacus-inspired page  I decided that another bead page was in order. I basically did the exact same thing but had the […]

Leave a Reply

