craftysuburbmomma

My Craft To-Do List

In Projects Still To-Do, Sewing on April 9, 2012 at 1:55 pm

I’m going to type this out so I don’t forget the different things I’ve been brainstorming about. One of my biggest issues with crafts is that I get so many ideas going and forget about many of them. One day I would love to have my own shop to sell my various creations but that will never happen if I can’t focus on one project at a time!

1. Clean and Organize my craft room. This is always on my list. I’ll get it cleaned up and then start a project and by the time it’s finished, the room’s in complete chaos again. I really need to utilize the storage space I have and find a way to better organize my room based on my crazy ideas.

2. Make my own Herbal tea. I have a lot of fresh fruit left from Easter and I don’t want it to go to waste. The hubs and I are both big fans of loose tea and the real fruity teas that I like are VERY expensive (at least for the kind that taste amazing). I’m thinking that I should be able to dry the fruit and chop it down into smaller pieces to then mix together for my own tea creations. I have an amazing friend who is going to let me use her food dehydrator so hopefully I can get started on at least drying the fruit ASAP.

3. Make my own Fascinator Hats. I have always loved hats. I think it’s a shame that women don’t wear them nearly as often as they did decades ago. I had so much fun wearing my Easter hat that I want to be able to wear a hat to church just for fun. That being said I don’t have the space (or the money) for big fun hats. I do have the space for fascinator hats. While not as expensive; they still can get pretty pricey. I’ve tried to find just a base that I can then jazz up. I’ve found some (at a great price) the problem is that they are from the UK and shipping will kill me. So I plan on teaching myself how to make them using deco mesh. The mesh is really inexpensive and I should be able to make a lot of small hats out of each roll.

4. Don’t forget about the Quiet Book! I have a few pages started and I need to remember that I should always be thinking of ideas or working on them. I hate that I will start a project, get sidetracked and then forget about it. It’s a horrible trait that I possess and I need prayer to help correct it. Speaking of quiet book…..

5. Tree hide-n-seek page for the quiet book. Charlotte thought lifting the grass flaps were so fun that I thought I needed to do more pages that were like that. I want to do a large tree that has birds and animals hiding behind leaves.

6. Make some knit summer skirts. Maternity pants and I are not agreeing and I like to wear skirts and dresses, especially in the summer. I want to make a couple skirts with the knit fabric I already have; ideally they will fit me when I’m not pregnant just as well as when I am.

7. Finish the toy room floor rug. I started on a latch hook rug after Christmas and I’m over a fourth of the way finished with it. I had stopped working on it because my hands were so dry I was cutting them when I would pull on the canvas. I need to finish that rug and save the carpet in that room!

 

I will post finished projects as I can. Until something is finished you really just need to bug me about them. 🙂

Happy Crafting!!

Leave a Reply

