craftysuburbmomma

Homemade Laundry Detergent

In DIY, Home Improvement on May 9, 2012 at 2:07 pm

I already have been using borax to boost my regular laundry detergent and I thought, “This is ridiculous! I just need to make my own detergent.” With that, I found a recipe and got to work. This is the recipe I found Homemade Laundry Detergent [Soap]. It is super easy to make and well worth it!

I tweaked the recipe just a bit. I used the Fels-Naptha soap (which is right next to the washing soda and borax in the laundry aisle) 5.5 oz instead of 4 or 4.5 with the Ivory soap. I stepped up the amount of borax and washing soda to compensate (11 oz. instead of 8 oz.).

I am VERY happy with the results! Our laundry smells fresh and clean without the extra chemicals. I also try to hang our clothes on the line every chance I have. The freshness of the detergent paired with the breeze makes our clothes feel and smell perfect!

I have also found that it gets out stains better than the detergent I was using before (All Oxi-Active Stainlifters HE Liquid). Life with a nearly two-year-old is messy and I love that this detergent can keep up, while saving me a lot of money!

  1. […] Homemade Laundry Detergent (craftysuburbmomma.wordpress.com) […]

  2. My only problem with Fels-Naptha is that it is made from petroleum, which is on a lot of people’s bad list, so just thought I’d mention it. Now, it’s on my bad list because I’m allergic. 😛

    • And Borax is also on people’s bad list. I just can’t win! I like it because it gets out stains REALLY well. I am thinking when my current batch runs out I am going to try IVORY soap. Maybe that graded won’t look like cheese to the Hubs…

Leave a Reply

