craftysuburbmomma

Muppet Clay Earrings

In DIY, Jewelry on May 30, 2012 at 3:21 pm

I’ve been seeing on Etsy clay Muppet character earrings and I knew I had to give it a shot! The Hubs finds them ridiculous but I think they are super fun and Charlotte’s birthday party was a perfect excuse to make them. I also didn’t want to pay about $20 when it was an opportunity to learn a new craft.

Beaker is one of Charlotte’s favorites and those were my favorite when looking at the earrings online. The other three were more to experiment than anything. I honestly think that Beaker and Elmo turned out the best. Gonzo is pretty good; I think if I make him again he needs to be skinnier but the nose turned out great! Kermit is the one that I am the most disappointed with; Charlotte called him a turtle. I am going to red0 him but I am going to make him more 3D and I think that will correct a lot of what I don’t like.

I used Scupley Clay. I had never used it before but I knew that my Mom had used it in a few of her creations. It is so great to work with; the colors blend extremely well and you just bake it in your oven. It doesn’t get much simpler than that! The only downfall is that it will show your fingerprints so plan accordingly!

If anyone has a character they’d like to see or wants a pair of their own, just let me know!

  1. […] Charlotte’s birthday I decided to make some muppet earrings for myself and I had also made some clay earrings for some friends of mine. I wanted to continue […]

Leave a Reply

