craftysuburbmomma

Go to the Library!

In DIY, Jewelry, Projects Still To-Do, Recipes, Sewing on June 1, 2012 at 10:14 am

I know that nearly everyone seems to be using Pintrest these days for craft ideas. I will admit that there are some great things on there but it has become a thorn in my side. Every time I go to buy fabric or crafts and they ask me what I’m making the first question the clerk asks me is, “Did you see that on Pintrest?”.

It seems that we have forgotten one of the best resources we have, our public library! We have a great library system were we live and I know that’s not the case for everyone. Growing up in the country there were not many options and the library was VERY limited. For those of you not bound by these limitations use that library card! I have found some great books on a variety of crafts and have picked up more ideas from books than I have online.

The joy of the library is that you can sit in that section and scour through multiple books with multiple projects in a short amount of time. If my child would let me, we could spend and entire day just looking at the books available to us; unfortunately she likes to run through telling all the librarians about her favorite books and I don’t get to sit very long.

I know some of you may argue with me and say that you can do the same thing while looking online. You can see multiple pictures on one site but you have to click on the image to get to the page that actually explains the craft itself. When looking at a book I can pull ideas from multiple projects in minutes and create something entirely my own!

I have two books right now that I’m super excited about: 

I can’t wait to get started on a few projects, and these two books have provided a lot of inspiration.

If you’re not familar with the Dewey Decimal System I tend to stay in the following areas:

641,642 (Food, Drink and Meals)

646 (Sewing)

731 (Sculpting, working with clay)

745, 746 (Decorative Arts, Textile Arts)

Now get to the library and happy crafting!!

  1. We do have a great library. I love to visit it and check out piles of books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

