craftysuburbmomma

Beet-y Meatloaf

In Recipes, Uncategorized on June 4, 2012 at 12:00 pm

When the Hubs and I were in Epcot we ate at the Norwegian restaurant and had Kjottkaker. It’s a traditional Norwegian dish that is a cross between meatloaf and meatballs. We loved this stuff and have dreamed of it for the past few years (at least I have). I’ve found a few recipes and know that it has ground beef, ground pork, shallots, beets, and capers.  I had bought beets to one day make kjottkaker myself; it still has not happened.

To use the beets I decided to make a meatloaf and just improvise. Now it would help if I remember the exact measurements for this recipe. I am going to put measurements on here based on how much it looked like when I made it. I promise next time I make it I will measure and write down everything! The meatloaf was basically:

1 lb. ground beef

1 can beets (drained and pureed)

2 slices of wheat bread

1/3 c. milk

3/4 c. Mozzarella cheese

2 eggs

1 T minced onion

1 t basil

1/2 t oregano

1/2 t parsley

Salt and pepper to taste

The bread was put in a bowl with the milk to soak it all up. Then everything else was added to the bowl and mixed together. My brother-in-law got me the Perfect Meatloaf pan and I used this as my chance to try it out. Everything went in the pan and was topped with my red sauce. I baked it for about 45 minutes at 350 degrees. I’ve seen a lot of recipes that call for you to bake it a lot longer than that but the meatloaf pan cuts down on the baking time.

The Hubs does not like beets but really liked the meatloaf. In fact he ate most of it before I had a chance too! It will be added to our regular rotation of meals.

Enjoy!

  1. […] Beet-y Meatloaf (craftysuburbmomma.wordpress.com) Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Food, I Need Your Feedback, Recipes and tagged A.1., A1, A1 Steak Sauce, Bacon, Barbecue sauce, BBQ, BBQ sauce, Beef, beef mince, black pepper, bread, bread crumbs, cheddar, Cheese, Chuck, colby, colby jack, Cook, Cooking, crackers, croutons, crushed, dressing, egg, Eggs, electrick skillet, Food, gorund beef, grill, grounc chuck, ground, Ground Beef, hamburger, Hamburgers, Home, honey mustard, Italian Dressing, Ketchup, kitchen, Kraft, Kraft Roasted Red Pepper Italian Dressing, Meat, meat substitute, Meat-Loaf, meatball, meatballs, Meatloaf, mince, Morton, Morton® Season-All® Seasoned Salt, mustard, Onion, oven, Parmesan, Parmigiano-Reggiano, Ranch, ripped, Roasted Red Pepper, romano, Season All, seasoned croutons, seasoned salt, shredded, shredded cheese, steak sauce, turkey. Bookmark the permalink. ← I haven’t forgotten about blogging. […]

Leave a Reply

