craftysuburbmomma

Tutu Party Favors

In Birthday Party, Clothing, DIY, For a Kiddo, Sewing on June 5, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Since we were doing a Muppet-themed birthday party I wanted to do something fun for the little girls that would be at the party. When I started thinking about what I wanted to do I was babysitting two girls (besides my own) under the age of two. The girls loved playing dress-up with a few tutus that I had in the toy room and I thought that would be a fun thing to make!

Thankfully Hobby Lobby had tulle on sale the week I made them. In honour of Kermit’s Rainbow Connection  I made rainbow tutus. I was able to get a yard each of red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple. I cut the tulle into 6″ wide strips (but I honestly forgot to measure how tall). Each skirt has three strips of each color and I was able to make 8 skirts from the 6 yards I purchased.

The waistband is a 2 1/2″ strip of fabric. The fabric can be as long as you’d like it to stretch. A lot of the ones I made were anywhere from 25-32″ long. The elastic for the band was anywhere from 16-20″ long.

I gathered the tulle and sewed it directly to the waistband using my serger. The process was so much faster using that and my seems were sealed nicely. I didn’t get a chance to take a picture of all the girls wearing them at the party but Charlotte begrudgingly posed for me after the fact.

Happy Crafting!

Leave a Reply

