craftysuburbmomma

Adelaide’s Newborn Hat

In For a Kiddo on August 30, 2012 at 12:00 pm


When Charlotte was born I made a little hat for her. I had just started crocheting and it was pretty basic but, I did enjoy the fact that I had something handmade by me for her newborn pictures.

I thought I should do the same thing for the newest bundle of joy but I wasn’t sure what direction I wanted to go in. I’ve had more experience with my hook and yarn so I wanted to do something a bit more complicated and original. I found black Bernat Boa yarn and thought it would make a perfect little bear hat.

Once I started going I realized that the ears did not quite turn out like I’d hoped. It’s hard to see in the picture but the ears actually are very deep and I thought they looked more cat-like than anything. I also thought the hat was really plain so quickly whipped up a bow to add to it.

When the bow had been added people had decided that it’s a Minnie Mouse hat. That works for me! I was just happy to have a new hat in my repertoire and be able to make Adelaide something that was all her own. I do think that I’ll move the ears a little closer to the front before winter when she’ll actually get to wear the hat out and about!

Happy Crafting!

  1. Lovely hats and beautiful baby! I had a baby in July and two of the three hats I crocheted for him were too small for him when he was born. I’ve kept the matching booties though, although he won’t keep them on! http://lotsofnicethings.wordpress.com/2012/05/21/quick-and-easy-crochet-baby-blanket/

Leave a Reply

