craftysuburbmomma

DIY Pattern Paper

In DIY, Sewing on September 5, 2012 at 11:30 am

When I started making my pattern for my new bag I had seen a website that suggested using old newspapers for your pattern. I wish that I remembered where I had seen it but unfortunately I was visiting too many sites and had forgotten after about #20 what ideas came from where.

I normally don’t have newspapers lying around because the Hubs gets all of his news online. I did have one piece that was left from something so I thought I  would give this a whirl. It worked out really well with one downfall. My counter and hands were covered in newspaper ink. So make sure that you’re using material that will wash well.

If you are like me and don’t normally have newspapers around I did have something on hand that was clean and is not too expensive, packing paper. It is white newsprint and is $10 for 10 lbs. at your local U-Haul. It’s the same exact thing but no mess to worry about!

Hopefully this well help you in your next pattern endeavor.

Happy Crafting!

  1. Thanks for the tip. I use a lot of paper for art projects and finding some without ink will be great!

Leave a Reply

