craftysuburbmomma

Rope Basket

In DIY, For a Kiddo on September 11, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Last year I was looking for an idea for a baby shower gift. I knew that she needed storage baskets but I didn’t want to just go to the store and pick something out. I wanted something with a more personal touch. At the time I had picked up The Big Ass Book of Crafts and he had a project in here for a basket using old pajama bottoms and some rope.

I liked the baskets so much I decided to make one to put in Charlotte’s room to keep her shoes in. While I liked the idea of using old pajama bottoms, I didn’t have any and didn’t feel like going to goodwill to buy some when I had extra fabric at home. To weave the basket you use a 1″ wide strip of fabric (They were about a 2 feet or so long) and wrap it around the rope. (You can use what you have on hand or I found this at Wal-Mart) Wrap the rope twice and on the third go around wrap the piece you are working with and the layer below it. This is going to keep everything together. As you run out of a strip hot glue it to another to keep everything going but without having to have a huge tail you are threading through all your layers.

I’m not sure that all of that makes perfect sense but as you get going I think you’ll figure it out! The baskets are not rigid by any sense but they do a great job.

Happy Crafting!!

Leave a Reply

