craftysuburbmomma

Charlotte’s Cardinal Shirt

In Clothing, For a Kiddo, Sewing on September 26, 2012 at 8:47 am

This summer Charlotte got to go to a St. Louis Cardinals game with us. The Hubs is a HUGE Cardinals fan and we always go to the game decked out in our Cards finest. Charlotte needed something to wear but I didn’t want to pay $20 or $25 for a toddler’s shirt! As my brothers would say, “That’s ridiculous” .  So I decided to make her one instead.

I took an infant pattern from the early 60’s for the shirt and cut it a bit larger. I added the ribbon on the sides to keep it closed in addition to the snaps that are used in the pattern. I wanted to add some extra color to the shirt itself so I put red thread in my serger and serged all of the edges instead of hemming them. For the logo I did a quick online search for the Card’s logos through the years and loved the older look. It’s just printed on iron-on paper and ironed on the shirt!

It turned out great and she’s ready for any future games. 🙂 

Happy Crafting and GO CARDS!!

Leave a Reply

