craftysuburbmomma

Awesome Baby Sling

In DIY, Momma Must Have, Sewing on October 8, 2012 at 9:49 am

I needed a baby sling once Adelaide came along. It was going to be too difficult to carry her around without help chasing around a two-year-old. I had seen Maya wraps at Cotton Babies and they were at least $80; not happening on our budget. When I went to the website to get a good look at them I found that they actually offer instructions on how to make one yourself!

I did mine slightly different. I bought 1 1/2 yards to two fabrics I really liked, cut them in half length-wise and sewed the edges of the matching fabrics. Then I sewed the two fabrics together on the sides. I also used a 3 inch belt buckle instead of the rings. The belt buckle was easier to find.

Since the sling was really long I folded up the edge and made three giant
pockets. The pockets have proven very useful! I am able to put keys, phone, wallet, etc. in the pockets and not have to carry a purse or diaper bag.

I have used this countless times these first few months of Adelaide’s life. I would recommend one to any mother!!

Leave a Reply

