craftysuburbmomma

1950’s Girl’s Fancy Dress

In Clothing, DIY, For a Kiddo, Sewing on October 12, 2012 at 8:06 am

My brother is getting married next weekend and we are all beyond excited! They have been together for years and we are so happy to finally officially welcome Kelly into the family. Even though the Hubs, kids and I are not in the wedding we will be in family pictures so I wanted to make sure we all looked our best.

I was trying to find something for Charlotte to wear but everything I liked was out of my budge. I decieded to go through my patterns and found this one:

It was perfect for what I needed, unfortunately it was 2 sizes too big for Charlotte. I took it in while I was cutting it and thankfully it has the big sash in the back that helps to tuck it all in. This the completed dress:

The back was easy because it was buttons and I didn’t have to mess with attaching a zipper.

I think Charlotte likes it just because she can twirl in it.

I found the fabric at Hancock Fabric and thankfully it was on sale and down to $5 a yard. I love the silver and the feel of the fabric itself. It’s a dull satin and super soft. I loved it so much that I started cutting very carefully so that I could use the leftover fabric for a skirt for myself. That project to follow.

Happy Crafting!

  1. LOVE!!! And my sister and I used to twirl around like that when our grandma made us new dresses! Such a cute photo! 🙂

  2. […] have talked about Charlotte’s new dress and how much I liked the fabric. I decided that I could do a pencil skirt with what I had left. I […]

  3. […] ago I had talked about my brother’s upcoming wedding. I made Charlotte a dress and wanted something for myself. I love big full skirts and decided this was a perfect time to […]

Leave a Reply

