craftysuburbmomma

1950’s Women’s Petticoat

In Clothing, DIY, Sewing on October 22, 2012 at 9:47 am

I wanted to wear a VERY full skirt to the wedding and decided that I needed to make a new petticoat to pull off the look I wanted. I have one that I made a few years ago to go under a 1950’s dress for Easter (I have a lot of vintage patterns and the 50s are most likely my favorite era). That petticoat was longer than the skirt I was wanting to make and I also wanted to have a legit pattern to work off of instead of making it up as I went along.

I google searched petticoats and came across this blog and her awesome tutorial. I followed her pattern, mostly. I started with 5 yards instead of 4. I also did two layers of the tulle instead of one so that the skirt started out fairly large. Mine is about 20 inches long. I also put a bit of a waistband to the petticoat. I have a layer of tulle on the front and backside of the waistband. The rough edges of the tulle are enclosed in the waistband itself.

Final change was the addition of the snaps. I learned how to do them a few weeks ago and was itching for a project to add them to. I also thought it would be quicker than adding the eye hooks (it was). You may also notice that I don’t worry about nice clean seems when it comes to undergarments, things go quicker this way.

As soon as I finish the skirt I’ll post that!

Happy Crafting!!

  1. Hi to every single one, it’s in fact a nice for me to visit this web site, it contains helpful Information.

  2. […] I love big full skirts and decided this was a perfect time to make one for myself. I made the petticoat and searched for the perfect fabric for the skirt […]

  3. […] wanted a square neckline so that had to be changed from the pattern and I wanted a full skirt using this petticoat that I had made before. This meant that I needed to add extra fabric to every panel equally so […]

Leave a Reply

