craftysuburbmomma

Stuffed Pepper Soup

In Recipes on November 5, 2012 at 8:41 am

Today is the start of my Winter of Soups series!

My Mom used to make stuffed peppers when I was growing up. She didn’t make them often but I loved them; even if I did only eat the insides and not the pepper itself. As I’ve gotten older I have actually found that I love green peppers so this soup was the perfect blend for the Hubs and I. He likes soup and I like stuffed Peppers. The original recipe is from Taste of Home but I’ve modified to give it a bit more flavor.

1 lb. Ground Beef, cooked and drained (or for a little kick, 1/2 lb. Hot Italian Sausage and 1/2 lb. Ground Beef)

3 Green Peppers, Chopped

1 Yellow Onion, Chopped

1 can Italian Diced Tomatoes

2 c. Beef Broth

2 c. Tomato Pasta Sauce

2 c. Water

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 Pouch Ready-to-Serve Long Grain & Wild Rice

Add everything but the rice in a large pot and bring to a good simmer. Cook rice in the microwave according to package directions. Just before serving add the cooked rice to the pot.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

