craftysuburbmomma

Sanity

In Momma Must Have, Musings on January 10, 2013 at 9:50 pm

We’ve had some rough days. I’m not sure what’s going on with Charlotte but it is not pretty. This morning I had more than I could take and I went to kitchen to start on a new project. I’ve been working on Christmas presents for months and I’ve been excited to start something just for fun.

So I left Charlotte in the living room to watch PBS, Adelaide sleeping contentedly in her crib and started something for me. I want a facinator hat and the only way to get a good one in the states is to make it yourself. I was standing there forming the hat structure and enjoying the peace. Peace. I could feel my body relax with each piece of newspaper I put into place.

That is why I do my crafts; for the calming effect they have on me. While I do enjoy creating things and using my creativity, I love the calm and serene place my mind goes as I work on something with no time limit. After 15 minutes of work this morning I felt that I could restart the day more successfully, and I did.

Thank you Lord for Momma timeouts. They are the only thing keeping me sane these days.

Leave a Reply

