craftysuburbmomma

1950s Style Skirt

In Clothing, DIY, Sewing on January 11, 2013 at 8:50 pm
FInished skirt with the petticoat

FInished skirt with the petticoat

MONTHS ago I had talked about my brother’s upcoming wedding. I made Charlotte a dress and wanted something for myself. I love big full skirts and decided this was a perfect time to make one for myself. I made the petticoat and searched for the perfect fabric for the skirt itself.

I really wanted white with black polka dots (think Diane Keaton’s character in Because I Said So). I found some but it was WAY out of my price range. I ended up finding this amazing fabric in the home dec section of Hancock Fabrics and it was only $1.98 a yard. SOLD!

Finished Skirt without the Petticoat

Finished Skirt without the Petticoat

I decided how long I wanted the skirt to be and then cut three panels the full width of the fabric. I stitched up the panels leaving an opening for the zipper. I gathered them as much as I could to fit my waist. I wanted a wide waistband so ended up decided on a four inch band. I used the firmest pellon I could find and decided on a snap instead of a button for the closure.

I wasn’t thinking about how short it would end up being after the petticoat was on under it; thank goodness for black spanx! Overall I loved how it turned out and I’ll be making another one as soon as I get a chance. Oct. '12 Family Pic

  1. When I learn how to sew, I want to make one. Its so cute!

  2. If you can sew in a straight line you can do this skirt! We’ll have to find some time to make you one

Leave a Reply

