craftysuburbmomma

T-shirt Quilt

In Sewing on March 4, 2013 at 6:17 am

Justin Quilt Side AJustin Quilt Side BKeeping with the T-shirt quilts that the Hubs has gotten and my father-in-law; the brother-in-law wanted a t-shirt quilt. He is in A LOT of plays and has t-shirts from mulitiple shows. He gave me a huge trashbag full of shirts to create the quilt. I wanted to use the front and back of each shirt, keeping them next to each other in the quilt. The problem with that is that the front logo/design on each shirt was far smaller than the back containing the cast and crew.

I decided then to just make the quilt incredibly long and cut the front and back the same size. I could’ve cut the fronts in half and layered them with the backs to the right and left but I didn’t want the shows to get mismatched and by keeping them large I could create a pattern with the colors. I used two placemats as my cut-out guide, kept with a 5/8 inch seam, rag quilting finish, and a wave effect for the quilting itself. I had enough shirts to keep the design front and back so there is no true right side. I think the best part of the quilt is that when left in a heap it looks like a giant mound of t-shirts, to which both my brother-in-law and mother-in-law have picked up thinking it was a big pile of dirty clothes. Haha!

His moblie upload pic from Christmas morning. Gives you a good idea of the size!

His moblie upload pic from Christmas morning. Gives you a good idea of the size!

Happy Crafting!

  1. My brother played sports in high school and this would be a wonderful use of his shirts!

    Check out my blog, id love some feedback about my random collection of posts!

Leave a Reply

