craftysuburbmomma

Felted Animal Balls

In For a Kiddo on May 10, 2013 at 7:03 am

Adelaide’s first birthday is going to be here before I know it and Charlotte’s third birthday is just a few weeks away. I love to make the girls things for their birthdays and Christmas and with all that in mind I want to share with you a *partial* fail.

Charlotte's Animals

For Charlotte’s first birthday I made her small felted ball animals. The project was inspired by this Etsy listing my friend Meghan had sent to me. (Vicky has some amazing items and you really should check her out.)  I thought the animals were adorable and Charlotte’s first birthday was coming up so I set to work.Charlotte's Animals Close-up 1

These were my first attempt at felting and they turned out pretty well, not all of them were great but all-in-all ok. It was fun to experiment with colors and imagining what animals could be used.Charlotte's Animals Close-up 2

The fail comes in to play when I gave the animals to Charlotte. She did not care about them. She did not play with them. After hours and hours of work, she didn’t care. Almost two years later she will play with them a bit. I honestly think I like them more than she ever has.

Christmas ’11 I made larger animals for two of my sisters and they really liked them. Maybe these are more of a teenager gift. What do you think?

  1. They are so cute! Just wanted to let you know that I have mentioned you in my lastest post to say a massive and rather belated thanks for nomintaing me for a blog award.

Leave a Reply

