craftysuburbmomma

Charlotte’s New “Tutu”

In Clothing, For a Kiddo on May 29, 2013 at 7:12 am

To Charlotte all skirts that are made of lace, tulle, or see-through fabric are tutus. She wears one nearly every day. She had been telling me that she needed a new tutu for her birthday because her other ones were “too tight!”. Here’s the first one that I was able to make for her. The sheer fabric I was able to get for free compliments of Rachel at The Scrap Basket.

I snapped a few pictures along the way so that you can make one for your little girl! This skirt was super easy and came together in well under an hour.

Purple fabric cutCharlotte’s waist is 19″, hips are 21″ and her waist to knee length is 11″. I cut the solid fabric 20″ wide and 11″ long on a fold.

Sheer Fabric for Skirt

The sheer fabric was also cut on a fold, 20″ wide and 10″ long and, two pieces 20″ wide and 4″ long.

Hem

I started by sewing around the base of the purple in a zig-zag to help keep it from fraying then added a 1/2″ hem.

Sheer pieces Gathered

I sewed the two smaller pieces of sheer on one side (1/4″ seem) and then gathered the almost 40″ piece. This piece was then sewn to the main sheer piece. From there I sewed up the sides.

Sheer and Solid Sewn Together

I then pinned the sheer and the purple sides together, front to back, and sewed a zig-zag to again help with fraying.

Sheer Seam

Looking at the piece put together I didn’t like how the two sheer pieces looked once they had been sewn together. I knew that you would be able to see the seem, it just didn’t look nice. Sheer pieces sewn in place

I decided to sew along the seam so that the skirt would lay correctly and the seam would show above the ruffle. I then cut the excess fabric close to the seam line so that it would have a cleaner look.

Sheer Seam Trimmed

Much better.

Waistband

The elastic I have on hand is 1/2″ thick which is perfect for a waistband for Charlotte so I cut a 20″ long strip and made an inch wide hem at the top leaving an opening to feed my elastic through.

**Attach a saftey pin to your elastic end before you feed it through. It is a huge time saver and makes threading your elastic a snap**

Once the elastic was all the way through I sewed the ends of the elastic together (I like the lay one side on top of the other and do a tight zig-zag to keep it flat). Then sewed up the opening to the waistband.

130520_0010

The bottom piece of the sheer has no fray on it so that I didn’t have to do a second seam. Or at least it would have no fray on it if I could find it. Instead I used Elmer’s blue gel glue.

Charlotte's Tutu Skirt

I love the finished product. I’m hoping she does as well! We’ll find out tomorrow when she opens her presents from us.

Happy Crafting!

Leave a Reply

