craftysuburbmomma

Fall Poncho

In Birthday Party, Clothing, Crochet, For a Kiddo on September 6, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Fall is not quite here yet but I am really itchin’ to get out my fall gear; with that in mind I thought I’d share something I was able to make last year.

My sister had been looking for posing ideas for their family pictures and came across this one on facebook.

 

64057_10151214783733759_935506422_n

She loved the poncho on the little girl and asked if I would be able to make one. I jumped at the chance!  I decided to do blooming granny squares because I wanted to give the poncho a little more of a girly flair to it.  I am also horribly particular when it comes to visual spacing and patterns so the poncho was not made of random squares.

Noel's Poncho

I ended up making the poncho too big. I wanted to make sure that she could grow into it but I don’t even think it will fit her this year. 😦 The poncho is made up from 16 granny squares and are joined with a basic single crochet stitch inbetween the squares. I added a basic picot trim to give it a little more oomph as well.

 

Noel's Poncho Side

The poncho was big on Charlotte but hey, there’s nothing wrong with wearing something you got on your first birthday when you’re three or four is there?

 

Noel's Poncho back

I’m going to try it again one day and just do smaller squares. I used an 8/H crochet hook without thinking about how big it would make my end product. It’s not worth doing if you don’t learn something from your mistake right?

 

Happy Crafting!

  1. […] Fall Poncho (craftysuburbmomma.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

