craftysuburbmomma

Combining Old and New

In Clothing, Sewing on September 10, 2013 at 10:51 am

In the middle of August my Great Grandmother passed away. She was 99 years old and unfortunately had been sick for quite some time. We were blessed to have her as long as we did and blessed to have her suffering come to an end.

Great Grandma Visit

We were going up to Chicago for the funeral and the visitation and I wanted something new to wear. I decided that this was a perfect opportunity to make something.

I knew that I wanted a high-waisted pencil skirt and a flouncy blouse. I went through the pattern cabinet here at home and found exactly what I wanted. Thankfully my fabric stash also had what I wanted; the shirt is a silk blend that I found at Hancock Fabrics on clearance a few months ago and the skirt is corduroy that I found on the $2 rack at Wal-mart 1-2 years ago.

Pencil Skirt Pattern Sleeve

50s Shirt pattern sleeve

The skirt pattern (from 2003) wasn’t going to be high enough on my waist so I simply measured from my hips to where I wanted the top of the skirt to be and added the inches to the top of the pattern.

The shirt pattern (from 1953) and normally (at least in my experience) vintage patterns are really easy to follow and easy to make. This was the first one I’ve found that’s been difficult. The yoke on the back was not lining up correctly and after many, many trials and errors I re-cut the yoke piece (smaller this time) and was able to make it work.

Funeral Outfit Front

I loved how it turned out and I’ve been able to wear the skirt with quite a few other shirts.

Funeral Outfit Back

The unfortunate thing with the skirt is that I lost an inch off my waist about a week afterwards (no idea why I’m sure it has something to do with being finished breastfeeding and no longer lactating) and now the skirt is already looser than I’d like it to be! Thankfully it’s an easy design and easy to take in!

Have you had any luck with vintage patterns? I’d love to hear about it!

Happy Crafting!

  1. Reblogged this on Amanda's Words / starfire8me and commented:
    THAT IS A PRETTY PICTURE…..

Leave a Reply

